Free Shipping On Orders $99+

Utah State AED Laws

 Summary of Requirements

Physician approval is necessary for purchasing an AED. AED owners are encouraged to ensure potential users receive CPR and AED training. Commercial owners of fully automated external defibrillators must register the device's ownership and location with the department within 30 days of acquisition. However, there is no current legislation regarding maintenance or notification of use.
Summary of Requirements
AED-Check.jpg Physician Physician approval of an AED purchase required.
AED-Check.jpg CPR/AED Training A person who owns or leases an AED shall encourage each person who is
likely to use the AED to complete courses on the administration of CPR
and the use of an AED.
AED-Check.jpg EMS Notification A commercial owner of a fully automated external defibrillator shall
register the ownership and precise location of the defibrillator with
the department within 30 days of acquisition of the defibrillator.
Maintenance Program No Current Legislation
Notification of Use No Current Legislation

Need Help Managing Your AEDs?

Our Program Management Is Here To Help

Good Samaritan Protection
Rescuer Purchaser Property Owner Physician Trainer
AED-Check.jpg AED-Check.jpg AED-Check.jpg AED-Check.jpg AED-Check.jpg

UT Code § 26-8b-202- 2009

Provides Good Samaritan protection for use of an AED and establishes guidelines for AED programs.

Laws / Legislation
Date Summary
HB0300S01 2019 Requires trampoline parks to have an AED.
UT Code § 26-8a-601 2017 Grants Good Samaritan protection for UNTRAINED users.
UT Code § 26-8b-102 2015 Defines: Automated External Defibrillator, Bureau, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, Emergency Medical Dispatch Center, and Sudden Cardiac Arrest.
SB 192 2014 Allows the director of the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services to distribute funds to elementary schools for AEDs.
UT Code § 26-8b-402 2013 Any AED used solely for demonstration or training purposes, which is not operational for emergency use is, except for the provisions of this section, exempt from the provisions of this chapter.
The owner of an AED shall clearly mark on the exterior of the AED that the AED is for demonstration or training use only.
UT Code § 26-8b-303 2013 Outlines the responsibilities of an emergency medical dispatch center.
UT Code § 26-8b-301 2013 Outlines the training requirements for expected users.
UT Code § 26-8b-501 2013 A person is guilty of a class C misdemeanor if the person removes, tampers with, or otherwise disturbs an AED, AED cabinet or enclosure, or AED sign.
HB 31 2009 Utah Sudden Cardiac Arrest Survival Act - provides immunity protection and establishes requirements for AED placement.
UT Code § 26-8b-201 2009 Grants Good Samaritan protection for UNTRAINED users in CPR and AED use.
UT Code § 26-8b-302 2009 A person in the business of selling or leasing an AED shall, at the time the person provides, sells, or leases an AED to another person, notify the other person, in writing, of the reporting requirements described in Section 26-8b-301.
UT Code § 26-8b-401 2009 Outlines the responsibilities of the bureau and someone who owns or leases an AED.
SB 95 2003 Establishes a statewide database for the collection and distribution of
information regarding the location of commercially owned fully automated
external defibrillators.
SB 86 2000 Expands the training programs recognized by the state for fully
automated external defibrillators; and extends immunity to health care
providers who provide instructions on the use of fully automated
external defibrillators.
HB 50 1999 Expands Good Samaritan Act.
HB 98 1998 Allows trained responders without a license to administer CPR and use an AED.